TT 10 - Factory automation and communication systems

Track Chairs

Wolfgang Kastner, TU Wien, Austria and  Martin Wollschlager, TU Dresden, Germany


In response to current trends of the Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT), Track 10 covers various aspects of relevance for factory automation and communication systems. Besides topics related to industrial communication (safety and security) and innovative systems architectures bridging operational technology and information technology, specific focus of the track is put on suitable means of examining large and varied data sets originating from automated manufacturing systems as well as novel solutions leveraging the engineering of future automation systems.

Topics under this track include (but not limited to)

  • Automated manufacturing systems
  • Distributed planning and control of industrial systems
  • Security analysis and privacy enforcement in factory automation
  • Service-oriented architectures in factory automation
  • Edge, fog and cloud computing for factory automation
  • Big data and data mining in factory automation
  • Industrial communication systems (wired/wireless)
  • Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) in Factory Automation
  • Communication in Industry 4.0
  • IT/OT convergence
  • Remote configuration and network management
  • Critical and real time solutions for factory automation and communication systems

Track Committee

  • Professor Robert Harrison, Warwick Manufacturing Group, University of Warwick, United Kingdom
  • Professor Leandro Buss Becker, Federal University of Santa Catarina (UFSC), Brazil
  • Professor Jose Barata, NOVA Univesity of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Professor Martin Schoeberl, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • Patrick Heinrich Denzler, TU Vienna, Automation System Group, Austria
  • Dr. Gernot Steindl, TU Vienna, Automation System Group, Austria
  • Professor Carsten Wittenberg, Heilbronn University of Applied Science, Fakultät für Mechanik und Elektronik, Germany
  • Dr. Paulo Garcia, CMKL - Carnegie Mellon KMITL, Bangkok, Thailand
  • Professor Peter Danielis, University of Rostock, Institute of Computer Science, Germany
  • Dr. Reinder J. Bril, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
  • Professor Sasikumar Punnekkat, Mälardalen University, Sweden
  • Dr. Frank Golatowski, University of Rostock, Institute of Applied Microelectronics and Computer Engineering, Germany
  • Professor Alexander Fay, Helmut-Schmidt-University, Hamburg, Germany
  • Professor Salvatore, Cavalieri University of Catania, Department of Electrical Electronic and Computer Engineering, Italy
  • Professor José Lima, Institute for Systems and Computer Engineering, Technology and Science - INESC TEC, CeDRI-IPB, Portugal
  • Dr. Markus Jung, Balluff GmbH, Germany
  • Professor Dirk Timmermann, University of Rostock, Germany
  • Santiago Soler Perez Olaya, TU Dresden, Institute of Applied Computer Science, Germany
  • Professor Andreas Willig, University of Canterbury, New Zealand